Quick and Easy –Perfect Mixed Berry Smoothie

I’m not entirely sure what got me interested in making my own smoothies. I’ve always loved fruit, and found smoothies to be a healthier alternative to my milkshake habit, although too expensive to buy too often. Most likely my love for them had a lot to do with why I started making them on my own, rather than buy them. Additionally wonderful, I know exactly what’s in the food that I make, and I can make it exactly the way I like.

Not only are they quick to make, but very good for you, pretty cheap, and very filling. And after a few tries, I finally got my recipe perfect. To me, that means it’s thick, full of flavor, not too sweet, a bit creamy, and perfectly chilled. Still drinkable through a straw, although equally great with a spoon.

There are a few things that make my recipe different from others I’ve seen or what others have told me they do. The first think I wanted, was to take out added sugar or sweetness. Especially once I came back from my months in Southeast Asia, lots of American food tended to taste far too sweet. And that’s not at all because the food in Asia was bland. On the contrary, the amount of fresh fruit I could find, and juices that were available to me –tasty, exotic (to me), and devoid of added sugars unlike what you can find here in America–made me more sensitive to the things we do to our food here. Especially when you consider how naturally sweet most fruits are, I don’t believe the default should be to add sugar or honey or whatever is often used to sweeten things. Now, by all means, go ahead if you want to. I don’t judge. But I do know what I like, and I think this recipe is perfect as is. Written for blending exactly one serving every morning. If you want, of course, make changes, but if you do definitely tell me the results and how you liked it! Food obsessed, remember?

Second absolutely necessary thing for the perfect smoothie–banana. Not just a banana though, although that’s absolutely perfect by itself to thicken and sweeten your smoothie. For the perfect smoothie, freeze the banana beforehand. No added ice necessary when you’re making your morning breakfast, which means no watering down the fruit deliciousness and the consistency, and makes sure every serving has as much of that fruit as you can get in a cup.

Without any further ado, the recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1-2 handfuls of blueberries
  • 1 oversize handful of strawberries
  • 1 oversize handful of cherries
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt, plus more to taste
Notes
  • To make vegan or lactose free, use soy yogurt
  • Frozen fruit works just as well as fresh fruit, and will be a bit cheaper
  • Buy a tub of your preferred yogurt instead of by the serving like you see so often. Much cheaper.

Instructions.

  1. Gather fruit, chop to medium sized pieces, throw in the blender. Looks kinda like this.IMG_0945
  2. Especially if you’re using frozen fruit, make sure your blender can handle crushing ice. Throw in the yogurt. make sure the top is on the blender and you have a spoon handy.
  3. Blend until all the chunks are gone. You’ll probably have to encourage some of the fruit away from the sides of the blender until it gets closer to the right consistency. Sometimes frozen fruit doesn’t like to cooperate.
  4. And that’s it! You’re done. Pour into a glass and drink away. Or taste first and see if you wanna add sugar, but I never do.

IMG_0946

That’s what mine look like, and roughly the amount that the recipe I provided gets you. Again, sorry I’m no photographer, but I think you get the idea.

Regardless, if you try it lemmie know what you think, and stay cool,

Lightmere

Leave a Reply

